In fall 2021, Dean Anne Massey announced that five members of Isenberg’s faculty have received new fellowships recognizing their outstanding research contributions and productivity.

All of the new fellowships, which last for a five-year term, have been made possible by generous donors who support the Isenberg School of Management’s priority of “Sustaining Faculty Excellence.” 


G. Bradley Bennett has been named the Ronald C. Mannino Faculty Fellow. Bennett, an associate professor in the accounting department, joined Isenberg in 2012, after earning his PhD at the University of Alabama. His research focuses heavily on auditor judgment and decision-making—an area for which Isenberg’s accounting department was ranked #2 in the nation this year in a survey by Brigham Young University. He also researches auditor-client negotiations, emerging technologies in financial reporting, and issuer-investor communications. His research has been published in The Accounting Review, Contemporary Accounting Research, and Accounting, Organizations & Society.  During his time at Isenberg, Bennett has taught financial accounting and auditing courses to undergraduate students and doctoral seminars on behavioral research in accounting. Currently, he teaches advanced audit to master’s students. Bennett sits on the scientific committee for the International Symposium on Audit Research, as well as on the editorial boards for the academic journals Auditing: A Journal of Practice and Theory and Behavioral Research in Accounting.


Jeremy Bentley has been named the Richard Dieter ’66 MS & Susan C. Dieter Faculty Fellow. Bentley, an associate professor of accounting, joined Isenberg in 2015, after earning his PhD at Cornell University. His research, for which he was recognized with the Isenberg Outstanding Research Award in 2020, focuses on managerial accounting, performance evaluation, and performance reporting. The American Accounting Association named him the 2020 Best Early Career Researcher in Management Accounting. Bentley teaches financial accounting and cost accounting, and received an Isenberg Teaching Excellence Award in 2019.


Emily Heaphy has been named the John F. Kennedy Faculty Fellow. Heaphy, an associate professor in the management department, joined Isenberg in 2018. She earned her PhD at the University of Michigan in Management and Organizations, and her research focuses on how work relationships, emotions, and the human body affect human flourishing. Heaphy teaches human resource management to undergraduates and graduate students. This past spring, she won Isenberg’s College Outstanding Teaching Award (tenure track).

Matt Katz.jpg

Matthew Katz has been named the Dean’s Research Faculty Fellow. Katz is an associate professor and undergraduate program director for the McCormack Department of Sport Management. He earned his PhD in sport management from the University of Texas at Austin in 2014 and joined the Isenberg faculty in 2015. He researches sport consumer behavior, with a particular focus on fan-to-fan relationships and the influence of fan networks. He was named a North American Society for Sport Management Research Fellow in 2018 and won the Isenberg Outstanding Research Award in 2020. He teaches sport marketing at the undergraduate and graduate levels along with sport history, and won an Isenberg Teaching Excellence award in 2019.


Mila Getmansky Sherman has been named the Judith Wilkinson O’Connell Faculty Fellow. Sherman is a finance professor who joined Isenberg in 2004, after completing her PhD at the Sloan School of Management, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. She recently published research on the gap between male and female faculty members teaching finance at top business schools, but her work typically focuses on empirical asset pricing, systemic risk, hedge funds, and financial crises. Sherman teaches alternative investments and financial modeling to undergraduate and graduate students. She also teaches corporate finance to undergraduates and finance theory core to master’s-level students.