Isenberg Hospitality Students Excel at Industry Scholarship Banquet

November 5, 2013

On October 21, Isenberg Hospitality students received the lion's share of scholarships at an annual awards dinner at the Oak Hill Country Club in Fitchburg hosted by the New England Club Managers Association (NECMA). At the event, eight students in Isenberg's Department of Hospitality & Tourism Management (HTM) were honored with $10,500 of the $14,000 in scholarships from NECMA's David Meador Foundation.


The awards came in two categories. Isenberg HTM students Abigail Georger, Andrea Lockhead, and Bethany Levy received the Club Management Scholarship, reserved for students seeking club management as a career path. Aida Girouard, Kati Morgan, Ashley Hellstrom, Marta Gianatti, and Emma Frost--all from Isenberg--earned the Hospitality Scholarship, for students planning hospitality careers.


A month before the banquet, seven Isenberg HTM students provided organizational and logistical support at the annual NECMA Meador Scholarship Golf Tournament. The event, attended by 132 participants at the Rhode Island Country Club in Barrington, raised $28,000 toward the Meador Scholarship Fund.


The Isenberg Meador scholarship recipients pursue HTM's Club Management concentration, which combines coursework with hands-on immersion--typically at country clubs and other private membership venues in the industry. Isenberg's NECMA student chapter is one of the association's largest and most active. NECMA, whose 240+ members manage 150+ clubs in New England, works closely with Isenberg to help students gain internships, networking opportunities, entry-level management employment, and other hands-on learning experiences.